Why I Like Skeet Shooting

I am Jim Bolduc and I live in the great State of New Hampshire. I have been an avid skeet shooter for about 20 years. I have found that skeet shooting is the most relaxing sports of all the sports I am involved in.

I like Skeet Shooting because you don’t need to go to a range to enjoy it; you can often go to your local gravel pit and skeet shoot. This of course depends on whether your local ordinances allow this in the area in which you live.

Weather can be a factor, especially if you live in the northern part of the country like I do in New Hampshire, with all of the inclement weather in the wintertime. The weather can work in your favor or against you. As an example: on a cloudy day some people see the clay birds better than on other days when the sun is out. If you have snow on the ground, or if it is raining; all of these weather conditions affect how well you will see a clay bird. I find that if it is a warm day I will tend to be more relaxed and shoot better. If it is a cold day I find that I tend to be more uptight and rigid and do not shoot as well.

You know, once you get out on the skeet range and are set up, you find yourself feeling as though you are in another world. It is just you and the clay. Who is going to win the challenge? When the range master (or his designee for the day) pushes the button after you signal him you are ready, you wonder: “Am I going to be able to shoot it when it comes flying out of the clay thrower? Or will it keep flying?”

You are usually out in a natural setting when you are on the range. As most ranges because of the shooting are in rural settings you often get to see nature at its best. I had the experience not long ago while shooting where six Turkey’s walked right across the range. It was so fun to stop shooting and just watch them; they were not bothered by our skeet shooting in the least.

I hope you give Skeet Shooting a try it is a great sport!

Check out more from Jim Bolduc NH by visiting www.jimbolduc.net

1 thought on “Why I Like Skeet Shooting

Leave a comment