Who I Like To Shoot Skeet With

Skeet shooting with anyone is fun but it is special when you can bring along a good friend or family member. It is a bonus if they know how to skeet shoot! I am blessed to have some good friends and a family member who likes to skeet shoot.

My best friend Mike is a good example of the kind of skeet shooter you want to have go with you shooting. Mike knows how to handle a shotgun very well. Mike’s favorite shotgun bounces back and forth between his 20 gauge and his 12 gauge shotguns. I would be the last one to tell him which one to use on any given day. He shoots both shotguns well and hits the clay birds with either shotgun. I have to admit; I get kind of jealous sometimes because Mike is such a good shot. This makes me work even harder to improve my shooting capabilities.

Then there is my son! Wow! I have to say; Jimmy is a great shot. He took lessons when he was only 12 years old. The person who taught Jimmy to shoot said he was a natural shot. As with Mike; this fact also makes me work harder to improve my shooting!

It is a lot of fun to get the three of us out on the skeet range and see who can shoot well.  We have fun contests as to who is going to shoot better on any given day. It does not matter whether it is raining, snowing and or nice as can be; Mike and Jimmy just plain are good with a shotgun.

I have my days when I can shoot well. It seems to come in streaks. One day I am right on the clay birds and the next; oh well not so good! I took lessons from the same person as my son and the instructor told me to forget his suggestions and just shoot by instinct.

We usually take about half of the day when we go skeet shooting. We will normally shoot in the am and stop for lunch at noon. Sometimes we go right back and shoot some more clay’s or just call it a day.

There is never a bad day shooting skeet when you are shooting with your best friend and son. I would recommend to anyone to get their family and good friends involved in the sport of skeet shooting.

 

1 thought on “Who I Like To Shoot Skeet With

  1. Shooting with a good friend or family is always a fun thing to do! Take someone new who has not ever shot and teach them the right way to handle a shotgun. You won’t be sorry!

Leave a comment